Mon, 24 Feb 2020

Washington D.C. [USA], Jan 13 (ANI): This year's winners' list for Palm Springs International Film Festival is out.

Russian historic drama 'Beanpole' starring Viktoria Miroshnichenko, Konstantin Balakirev, Vasilisa Perelygina, and Andrey Bykov won the title of Best International Feature at 31st annual Palm Springs International Film Festival.

The film directed by Kantemir Balagov depicts the story of a young woman, Iya, who returned from the World War II with her 3-year-old son. Kantemir won the best director's award in the 2019 Cannes Film Festival.

According to Hollywood Reporter, the war drama's accolade was announced by the jury along with other winners at the Hilton Palm Springs.

Meanwhile, Federation Internationale de la PRESse CInematographique (FIPRESCI) award for the best international screenplay for the dark family comedy has gone to Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-Won for their 'Parasite.'The film festival, which is to conclude Monday, has screened 192 films from 81 participating countries.

The entire list of winners go as:FIPRESCI Prize for Best International Feature Film of the Year'Beanpole' (Russia), director: Kantemir BalagovFIPRESCI Prize for Best Actor in an International Feature FilmBartosz Bielenia in 'Corpus Christi' (Poland)FIPRESCI Prize for Best Actress in an International Feature FilmHelena Zengel in 'System Crasher' (Germany)FIPRESCI Prize for International Screenplay'Parasite' (South Korea), screenwriters: Bong Joon-Ho and Han Jin-WonSpecial Mention'Antigone' (Canada), screenwriter: Sophie DeraspeNew Voices/New Visions AwardSong Without a Name (Peru/Spain/USA/Chile), director: Melina LeonThe Documentary Award'Talking About Trees' (France/Sudan/Germany/Chad/Qatar), director: Suhaib GasmelbariIbero-American Award'Monos' (Colombia), director: Alejandro Landes.

Special MentionWorkforce (Mexico), director: David ZonanaLocal Jury AwardAdam (Morocco), director: Maryam TouzaniYoung Cineastes AwardCorpus Christi (Poland), Director: Jan KomasaGoEnergistics (GoE) Bridging the Borders AwardAdvocate (Israel/Canada/Switzerland), directors: Rachel Leah Jones, Philippe BellaicheSpecial MentionThe Australian Dream (Australia), director: Daniel Gordon(ANI)

More California News

Access More

Sign up for California State News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!